Early Years Foundation Stage

During this exciting time, our students start to explore and discover the world in more depth and begin to develop fundamental knowledge and skills that will accompany them on their learning journey. Burgeoning skills in literacy and numeracy are harnessed and enhanced by explorative play and an exciting range of topic areas.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children. These principles include:

  • A unique child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

The EYFS framework gives parents confidence that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education, they can be assured that the same statutory commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.

The EYFS covers seven main areas of development which include:
  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

Our Early Years teachers support each child’s learning and development by following the EYFS framework. Observations are conducted regularly to monitor children’s progress, and learning journals are kept. Regular communication with parents is maintained to encourage strong home and school partnerships.

Share this page